Projects & Contacts Projects & Contacts

Project Contacts


Principal Investigator:
 
Co-Principal Investigator: Business Manager:

Besim Ogretmen, PhD
(843) 792-0940
Email: ogretmen@musc.edu

Hiroko Hama, PhD
(843) 792-6949
Email: hama@musc.edu

Karen H. Fulghum
(843) 792-3568
Email: fulghumk@musc.edu

 

 

2013 Projects


Project

Principal Investigator

Contact Info

     

Project 1:

"Substrate supply in de novo sphingolipid synthesis: Regulation on Chemoth"

Ashley Cowart, PhD

Office: 423 STB

Phone: 789-6796

cowartl@musc.edu

     

Project 2:

Structural and Function Studies of Quinolone Signaling in Pseudomonas Aeruginosa

Yong Mei Zhang, PhD

Office: BSB-535E

Phone: 843-792-0388

zhangym@musc.edu

     

Pilot 1:

"Role and Function of Mammalian Sphingomyelin Synthases"

Chiara Luberto, PhD

Office:BSB-535B

Phone: 843-876-5098

luberto@musc.edu

     

Pilot 2:

"Cross Talk Between the Sphingolipid and Folate Pathways"

Natalia Krupenko, PhD

Office: 228 BSB

Phone: 843-792-0013

krupenkn@musc.edu

     
Pilot 3:

"Role of Sphingolipid Pathway Genes in Maintenance of Genome Stability in Yeast"
Bidyut Mohanty, PhD Office: BSB-517  

Phone: 843-792-0281

mohanty@musc.edu
     
Pilot 4:

"Genes and Pathways Interacting with Sphingolipid Pathway in Cancer Pathogenesis"
Jim Zheng Office:135 Cannon Street, Suite 303E

Phone: 876-1123

zhengw@musc.edu 
     
Pilot 5:

"Role for Alkaline Ceramidase 1 (ACER1) in Skin Cancer"
Cungui Mao, PhD Office: 654 STB

Phone: 843-876-5191

maoc@musc.edu
     
Pilot 6:

"The Role of Lactosylceramide in Renal aging and Disease"

Leah Siskind, PhD

Office: 654 STB

Phone: 843-876-5169

siskind@musc.edu



Projects 2012-earlier


Project
 
Principal Investigator Contact Info
     

Project 1:

"Role of Sphingosine-1-Phosphate in Early Blood Vessel Formation"

Kelley Argraves, PhD

(843) 792-6587
argravek@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 2:

"Role of Ipc1 in the Regulation of Phagocytosis of C. neoformans"

Maurizio Del Poeta, MD

(843) 792-8381
delpoeta@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 3:

"Function and Regulation of Mammalian Fatty Acid-hydroxylase Gene"

Hiroko Hama, PhD

(843) 792-6949
hama@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 4:

"Role of Ceramide in Human Neuroblastoma Differentiation and Treatment"

Jacqueline Kraveka, DO

(843) 792-2960
kravekjm@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 5:

"Human Alkaline Phytoceramidease Regulation of Angiogenesis"

Cungui Mao, PhD

(843) 876-5191
maoc@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 6:

"Role and Function of Mammalian Sphingomyelin Synthases"

Chiara Luberto, PhD

(843) 876-5098
luberto@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 7

"Role of Sphingosine kinase 1 /Sphingosine-1-phosphate pathway in colon carcinogenesis"

Toshihiko Kawamori, MD, PhD

(843) 792-4171
kawamori@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 8

"Protection of Steatotic Livers from Primary Nonfunction"

Kenneth D. Chavin, MD, PhD

(843) 792-3368
chavinkd@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 9

"Sphingolipids in Integrin-mediated Oligodendrocyte Survival Signaling in Hypoxia/Ischemia"

(843)792-6439
gudz@musc.edu

 
 
 

Project 11

"Sphingolipid Signaling
Induced by LDL Immune Complexes "

(843)876-5200
hammadsm@musc.edu

Project 12:

"Substrate supply in de novo sphingolipid synthesis: Regulation and Impact on chemotherapy"



Ashley Cowart, PhD

(843) -789-6796
cowartl@musc.edu

     

Project 13:

"ATP-binding cassette transporter-2 (ABCA2) regulation of b APP processing"



Warren Davis, Jr., PhD

(843) - 792-5825
davisw@musc.edu

     

Project 14:

"Modeling the roles of bioactive lipids in gene expression systems"


Xinghua Lu, MD, PhD

(843) - 876-1111
lux@musc.edu
     

Project 15:

"Lipid interactions – Structural analysis of pseudomonas aeruginosa ceramidases"


Chris Snook, PhD